A New View


The sky was on fire
Vibrant shades of pink and orange
Danced across the morning air
but, I almost missed it.
I was looking out the wrong window

So many times am I
looking the wrong direction.

Instead of basking in the beauty of
God and soaking in the fact that
I am apart of His family with
all the privileges of a daughter of the King,
I accept another narrative;

A narrative that says
I am somehow not worthy;
that I am on…my …own…
in this cold grey world.
And that the giants
(which are way too big to slay)
Are left all up to me
to battle each day.

But the sky out this window
tells me otherwise
He… is…here…
in all his blazing beauty
doing impossible things and
inviting me to Himself and to His story

Oh how I wish I could get it;
that I could awake each morning aware
that I am cloaked in the robes of royality,
and not subject myself to the
rags that enslave me once again
To stop submitting to familiar ways of
shame and hiding.

But even so His grace
turns my face
Inviting me out
of the empty shadows
Love lavished on me
I am dipped in golden light
enveloped by beauty.
He leads me up to higher ground
It’s in His love is where I am found.

Colossians 3:1-3
Therefore, if you have been raised with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. *For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.

One thought on “A New View

Leave a comment